Here I am…


….on my computer everyday. Yet I never stop to just write. I started this blog to track my own coffee journeys, not to share with the world what I think I might know. Regardless, my mind has been set on what I want to do in coffee. I’ve focused so much the past 18 months in Seattle on learning as much as I can, as fast as I can, and seizing every opportunity that presents itself. I never thought I’d get into competition. I never thought I’d get to judge USBC. I never thought I’d suddenly be running around Seattle with my hands in as many developing projects as possible. 

Lately, I’ve been trying to define my role in coffee and what it means to me. I tried to convince myself that it was important for me to have an “end goal.” The thought nagged me every time I tried to define it. I don’t know where I want to go in coffee or what it is I’m trying to extract or learn from this entire experience. There is no role for me in coffee. I wander aimlessly around trying to learn as much as possible and have fun while doing it. I can’t decide if I’m cursed or lucky. I rarely feel like I’m actually working, so it makes sense to me that it’s probably why coffee influences my personal life and inner balance. If coffee (sometimes referred to as “work”) is frustrating me, it feels like a huge block has shut down my brain. I guess that’s part of that obsessive passion that so many of us have. Not being able to shut down the brain because you’re flying so fast on caffeine and creative energy. It’s kinda fun being obsessive.

Tags:

Categories: Obsessive Quest

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

One Comment on “Here I am…”

  1. Alex Negranza
    10/04/2009 at 1:15 pm #

Leave a Reply

