San Fran-Disco!


Haven’t posted in a while, so I’m going to be a super blogger today and do a full coffee recap on my recent adventures.

Sometime around 12.30 am on June 16th, I decided I wanted to go to San Francisco, the only problem, I worked that day. So naturally, I bought a 7 pm flight ticket, closed the cafe at 4 pm and was on my way to the Disco in the Bay. I spent my first night hanging out in my hometown, Modesto, CA. The next day I was back to the Bay and on my coffee adventures. I wasn’t able to visit that many coffee shops, but I did hit up bare minimum. 

My first stop, naturally, was Ritual Coffee Roasters at 1026 Valencia Street in the Mission. As I’m standing in line, I notice that Joshua Longsdorf was on bar slangin’ spro. So, I picked up 5 pounds of coffee, 2 Ritual mugs and a shirt and ran over to the bar to toss doppios to the face. I’ve always loved San Francisco’s coffee community. San Francisco’s specialty coffee baristas’ approach to espresso has always been so fascinating to me. You simply can’t find shots like that in Seattle and I’m always thrilled to find a barista who’s in touch with that same approach.Joshua pulled me a shot of Ritual’s latest seasonal blend, Hopscotch. *They now have the Sundae Seasonal Spro* The shot was amazing. Balanced, syrupy body, bright, good to the last drop.  I also noticed some ‘ONYX COFFEE’ boxes’ by the roaster.  Cool to see so much Edwin and F.V.H. at Ritual. Always a personal favorite.

After Ritual, it only made sense to walk down some blocks to Jeremy Tooker’s Four Barrel Coffee. WOW. What an amazing location. As I was meandering through their single origin retail coffee, a tall bearded man walked up next to me, the one and only Brett Walker. Seemed like Seattle coffee peeps were taking over the Bay. Regardless, I strongly recommend Four Barrel coffee. The cafe design is absolutely breathtaking and innovative. Rumor has it that they’ll be getting some awesome new machine that would ‘slay’ the two La Marzocco Mistral’s with “Four Barrel Coffee Co.” across the front. The machines and barista stations are inward facing toward each other, and it seems there could be a throwdown at any point between the dueling machines. Open layout, amazing coffee, awesome environment and friendly staff,… what a great concept. So I nabbed 5 pounds of coffee, 2 doppios, and was again wandering San Francisco highly caffeinated.

The rest of my San Francisco trip was pretty much personal endeavours, and breathtaking views from Marin highlands. I can’t describe the views I saw, or how to get there. The pictures I did manage to get on my G1’s and camera before the died are now lost. (My G1 was stolen early last week, along with all of my pictures from San Francisco, Portland, Slayer and all coffee things. Bummer.)

 

As a wrap up, I love San Fran-Disco.

Categories: Obsessive Quest

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

